Speaker 2017

GET INSPIRED - THINK FURTHER - NETWORK

The speaker board will consist of visionaries, economists, financial experts, well-known politicians and other impressing personalities from different areas.

The re.comm 17 speaker board is completed! But if you have inspiring recommendations, please do not hesitate to contact barbara.ploechl@epmedia.at.

In case you are not familiar with the re.comm, the speakers and the topics please have a look on our reviews from the past years: re.comm 16, re.comm 15 and the compilation of re.comm 12 - 14 .

Nicklas BergmanFuturist

Nicklas Bergman has spent the last 20 years working as a serial entrepreneur and investor focusing on emerging markets and technologies. With vast experience from navigating through turbulent and uncertain technology environments, he is a perfect guide when trying to understand what the future will bring. He is the co-founder and largest investor in several companies including the Volvo trucks and buses distribution network in Romania, an electron microscopy company and a Scandinavian ski resort development. His book “Surviving the Tech Storm” tackles the strategic implications of disruptive technologies and is becoming increasingly relevant as technology gets more and more integrated into corporate strategy and decision making.
Click here for the video.

JOSÉ LUIS CORDEIROFuturist

José Luis Cordeiro is a Venezuelan futurist and a world citizen. Born in Latin America as a child of European parents, he was educated in Europe and North America and has studied and worked extensively in over 130 countries around the world. José is a fellow of the World Academy of Art and Science, director of the Millennium Project, founding faculty at Singularity University in Silicon Valley, and adjunct professor at the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology in Russia. He combines his experiences in economics and engineering to promote a better world with more freedom and technology, focusing now on extending healthy lifespans. Latin America’s most important futurist deals with the role of human beings in a world of transhumanism and posthumanism.
Click here for the video.

Nigel FarageBritish Politician

Nigel Farage is a British politician, founder of the Eurosceptic UKIP party and is considered as the face of the Brexit campaign which led to Great Britain leaving the European Union. Since 1999 Farage is a member of the European Parliament, presently as Chair of the “Europe of Freedom and Direct Democracy Group”. After graduating from school, Farage traded commodities at the London Metal Exchange and later worked for several banks and investment groups, before he became one of the co-founders of UK Independence Party (UKIP) in 1993. From 2006 to 2009 and again from 2010 to 2016 he was UKIP chairman. He is regularly on air as a commentator and political analyst for the US-American TV channel FOX News and hosts a week nightly talk show on LBC Radio.
Click here for the video.

Neil HarbissonAvant-Garde Artist and Cyborg Activist

The artist Neil Harbisson is the world’s first legally recognised cyborg. He was born colour-blind – but thanks to an antenna implanted into his skull, the colour becomes audible for him. For Neil Harbisson the world is a symphony of colour and sound. By now he can distinguish 350 different shades and he uses the expansion of his senses for various art projects. With his Cyborg Foundation, founded in 2010, Neil Harbisson protects the rights of cyborgs, promotes cyborgism as an art movement and supports people, who want to become cyborgs.
Click here for the video.

Alon Hillel-TuchCo-Founder of RocketHub

Alon is the Managing Partner of Stacked Capital, and co-founder of RocketHub (acquired in 2015). Founding member of the Forbes Technology Council, board member of the Crowdfunding Professional Association, and strategic advisor to Zombie Soup (Artificial Intelligence & VR Lab). Alon has twice testified before U.S. Congress on equity crowdfunding and innovation, authored three whitepapers, and led FINRA's Capital Markets Series on the JOBS Act. At RocketHub, he hosted the White House, and was named a U.S Department of State 2015 top 12 global partner. Alon earned his M.Sc in Negotiation and Conflict Resolution from Columbia University and was a research fellow of the Earth Institute's Advanced Consortium of Cooperation, Conflict, and Complexity; specializing in genocide prevention and social network theory.
Click here for the video.

Andrew KeenInternet Entrepreneur

Andrew Keen is the author of internationally acclaimed books like “The Internet is not the Answer” and “The Cult of the Amateur”. He is one of the most renowned analysts of the digital revolution and one of the most influential critics of the internet. Andrew Keen studied history in London and Sarajevo. At the University of California he earned a masters’ degree in political science. He taught at several US universities, is founder of a successful Silicon Valley internet company and author of a weblog and numerous articles in newspapers like The New York Times or The Guardian. In his thought-provoking keynotes he examines the internet myths and the faith in digital progress. On the basis of profound analysis he encourages a change of perspective and a new way of thinking.
Click here for the video.

Professor Mariana Mazzucato (PhD)Economist

Mariana Mazzucato is one of the today’s most interesting economists. She is Professor in Economics of Innovation and Public Value at University College London (UCL), where she will establish and direct the Institute for Innovation and Public Purpose from 2017 on. Prior to that, she was RM Phillips Professor in the Economics of Innovation at the University of Sussex. Her book „The Entrepreneurial State: Debunking Public vs. Private Sector Myths” received numerous awards and is one of the Financial Times’ “Books of the Year 2013”. The expert on innovation has advised policy makers around the world and is a member of various commissions and advisory bodies as for example the Scottish Government’s Council of Economic Advisors as well as the World Economic Forum’s Network of Global Future Councils.
Click here for the video.

Professor Donald R. SadowayProfessor of Materials Chemistry at MIT

Donald Sadoway is the expert on alternate power sources and batteries. He has been named one of the “100 Most Influential People in the World” in 2012 by Time Magazine. The professor of material chemistry is a real crowd-puller at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with his educational and yet entertaining lectures. With his team, he developed a liquid metal battery to store the wind and solar energy and therefore is the key to success for renewable energies. In his impressive speeches, Donald Sadoway describes his search for the energy of the future and the strides he made so far. He was one of the speakers of re.comm 2013 – four years later he gives us an update on his research.
Click here for the video.

Hans-Werner SinnGerman Economist

Hans-Werner Sinn is former President of the Ifo Institute, Director of the Center for Economic Studies (CES) and Executive Director of CESifo GmbH. He was appointed Professor at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich in 1984 and professor emeritus in April 2016. Under the directorship of Hans-Werner Sinn from 1999 to 2016, ifo Institute quickly established itself as the most prominent of the six major German economic research institutes. Sinn has also gained international recognition as a result of numerous periods of research and guest professorships. In 1989 he was made an honorary professor of the University of Vienna and has been a permanent visiting professor at the University of Luzern since 2016. Since 1989 he has also been a member of the Scientific Council of Germany's Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy.
Click here for the video.

Jimmy WalesFounder Wikipedia

Jimmy Wales is futurist, founder of Wikipedia, and in 2006 one of the TIME Magazine’s “100 most influential people”. The origins of Wikipedia began when Jimmy Wales started Nupedia (“the free encyclopedia”) in March 2000. Today Wikipedia is the world’s largest encyclopaedia. In 2003 Jimmy Wales founded the Wikimedia Foundation, a non-profit charitable organisation, dedicated to encouraging the development and distribution of free, multilingual content. He is also co-founder of the for-profit company Wikia Inc. With TPO Jimmy Wales launched a mobile network that donates 10% of the monthly bill to a charity of the consumer’s choice and with his latest project Wikitribune, an ad-free global news platform, he plans to revolutionise the world as he did with Wikipedia.
Click here for the video.

Harald WelzerGerman Sociologist

Harald Welzer is social psychologist and sociologist, Professor for Transformation-design at the University of Flensburg, as well as Executive Director of the foundation FuturZwei. He allso is co-founder and chairman of the initiative “Offene Gesellschaft” (“Open Society”), which stands up for the political community as framed by the constitution. Harald Welzer is one of the most distinctive German critics of growth and one of the most consequent thought leaders of our times regarding the right way into a desirable future. Being a growth critic, he says that we have an inescapable responsibility to develop another way of living. He is the author of numerous best-selling books, among them “Climate Wars: What People Will be Killed for in the 21st Century” which was also published in English.
Click here for the video.

Speaker 2017

Speaker 2017

GET INSPIRED - THINK FURTHER - NETWORK

Das Speakerboard 2017 besteht auch 2017 aus elf internationalen Experten. Unter Ihnen befinden sich Professoren von renommierten Universitäten, Autoren, Politiker, Wissenschafter und Forscher.

Das Speakerboard 2017 ist komplett! Wenn Sie dennoch inspirierende Vorschläge für uns haben, dann senden Sie diese gerne an barbara.ploechl@epmedia.at.

Sie kennen die re.comm noch nicht und möchten ein Gefühl für die Speaker und die Themenauswahl bekommen? Hier finden Sie die Videorückblicke 2016, eine detaillierte Beschreibung der Persönlichkeiten der re.comm 15, sowie ebenfalls einen Überblick der vorangegangenen Jahre (re.comm 12 - 14).

Nicklas BergmanFuturist

Nicklas Bergman ist seit mehr als 20 Jahren als Serienunternehmer und Investor tätig mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Emerging Markets und den Technologiesektor. Sein großer Erfahrungsschatz ermöglicht ihm, einen fundierten Blick in die Zukunft zu werfen und dabei Trends und Perspektiven aufzuzeigen. Er ist Mitgründer und größter Investor von zahlreichen Unternehmen, darunter beispielsweise Volvo Trucks and Buses Distribution in Rumänien, einem Produzenten von Elektronenmikroskopen sowie einem skandinavischen Ski Resort. In seinem Buch „Surviving the Tech Storm“ befasst sich Nicklas Bergman mit den strategischen Auswirkungen disruptiver Technologien. Ein Thema, das zunehmend an Relevanz gewinnt – denn schließlich wird Technik zunehmend Teil von Unternehmensstrategien und Entscheidungsfindung.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

José Luis CordeiroZukunftsforscher

José Luis Cordeiro ist venezolanischer Zukunftsforscher und Weltbürger. Geboren als Kind europäischer Eltern in Lateinamerika, besuchte er Schulen in Europa und Nordamerika und arbeitete in 130 Ländern. Er ist Vorsitzender des Venezuela-Chapters des Millennium Projects und forscht an der Singularity University im Silicon Valley zu designten Babys und unendlichem Leben. Außerdem ist er außerordentlicher Professor am Moskauer Institut für Physik und Technologie. Seine Erfahrungen in Wirtschaft und Technik verbindet José Luis Cordeiro miteinander, um auf dieser Basis eine bessere Welt mit mehr Freiheit und mehr Technologie zu fördern. Der wichtigste Zukunftsforscher Lateinamerikas beschäftigt sich mit der künftigen Rolle des Menschen in einer Welt des Trans- und Posthumanismus.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

Nigel FarageBritischer Politiker

Nigel Farage ist britischer Politiker, Gründer der EU-kritischen UKIP-Partei und gilt als Gesicht der Brexit-Kampagne, die zum Austritt Großbritanniens aus der Europäischen Union führte. Seit 1999 ist Farage Mitglied des Europäischen Parlamentes, derzeit als Vorsitzender der Fraktion „Europa der Freiheit und der direkten Demokratie“. Nach dem Schulabschluss war Farage als Rohstoffhändler an der London Metal Exchange tätig sowie für verschiedene Banken und Investmenthäuser, bevor er 1993 zu einem der Gründungsmitglieder der UK Indepence Party (UKIP) wird, deren Vorsitzender er von 2006 bis 2009 und von 2010 bis 2016 war. Als Kommentator und politischer Analyst ist er derzeit regelmäßig beim US-amerikanischen Fernsehsender FOX News zu sehen und beim britischen LBC Radio hat er eine eigene Talkshow.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

Neil HarbissonAvantgarde-Künstler und Cyborg-Aktivist

Der Künstler Neil Harbisson ist der weltweit erste amtlich anerkannte Cyborg. Er kam mit völliger Farbblindheit zur Welt – doch mithilfe eines Computerchips, der mit einer Art Antenne an seinem Kopf befestigt ist, werden Farben für ihn zu hörbaren Frequenzen. Seitdem nimmt er die Welt als eine Farb-Ton-Symphonie wahr. Mittlerweile kann er dank seiner Sehhilfe zwischen 350 Farbnuancen unterscheiden und nutzt die Erweiterung seiner Sinne für verschiedene Kunstprojekte. Mit seiner 2010 gegründeten Cyborg-Stiftung verteidigt der in News York lebende Künstler die Rechte von Cyborgs, fördert Cyborgismus als Kunstbewegung und unterstützt Menschen, die Cyborgs werden wollen. Sein Unternehmen Cyborg Nest, schafft künstliche Sinne, um die Wahrnehmung der Realität zu erweitern.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

Alon Hillel-TuchMitgründer von RocketHub

Alon Hillel-Tuch ist Mitgründer von RocketHub, einer der weltweit größten Crowdfunding Plattformen, die zahlreichen Künstlern, Wissenschaftlern und Unternehmensgründern dabei geholfen hat, finanzielle Unterstützung in Millionenhöhe zu sammeln. Die Mission von RocketHub ist es dabei auch, der Öffentlichkeit die Macht des Crowdfunding aufzuzeigen. Als CFO and CTO von RocketHub war Alon Hillel-Tuch für die Partnerschaften unter anderem mit dem Weißen Haus, dem US-Außenministerium, Cisco, Microsoft und Chrysler zuständig. Seit 2016 ist er Managing Partner von Stacked Venture Builder und Dreamit Ventures. Alon hat einen MSc der Columbia University und war Stipendiat am Advanced Consortium of Cooperation, Conflict and Complexity des Earth Institute.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

Andrew KeenInternetunternehmer

Andrew Keen ist Autor international erfolgreicher Bücher wie „Das digitale Debakel“ und „Die Stunde der Stümper“. Er gilt als einer der renommiertesten Analytiker der digitalen Revolution und einer der einflussreichsten Kritiker des Internets. Andrew Keen studierte Geschichte und Politikwissenschaft in London, Sarajevo und an der University of California. Er lehrte an mehreren US-amerikanischen Universitäten und ist Gründer eines erfolgreichen Internetunternehmens im Silicon Valley. Er schreibt ein erfolgreiches Weblog und seine Artikel erscheinen regelmäßig in internationalen Zeitungen und Magazinen wie The New York Times, The Guardian oder WIRED. In seinen aufrüttelnden Vorträgen nimmt er Internet-Mythen und digitalen Fortschrittsglauben unter die Lupe und regt anhand fundierter Analysen zum Perspektivwechsel und zum Neudenken an.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

Mariana MazzucatoÖkonomin

Mariana Mazzucato ist eine der interessantesten Ökonominnen von heute. Sie ist Professorin für Innovationsökonomie und Public Value am University College London (UCL), wo sie 2017 auch das Institut für Innovation und Public Purpose eröffnet. Zuvor war sie als Professorin an der University of Sussex. Ihr 2013 veröffentlichtes Buch „Das Kapital des Staates: Eine andere Geschichte von Innovation und Wachstum“ erhält zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und ist laut Financial Times eines der „Books of the Year 2013“. Die Innovationsexpertin ist Beraterin internationaler, politischer Entscheidungsträger sowie Mitglied verschiedener Kommissionen und Beratergremien, darunter beispielsweise im Wirtschaftsrat des Schottischen Parlamentes sowie im Network des Global Futures Council des Weltwirtschaftsforums.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

Donald R. SadowayProfessor der Materialchemie am MIT

Donald Sadoway ist Experte für alternative Energien und Energiespeicherung. 2012 wird er vom Time Magazine zu einer der 100 einflussreichsten Persönlichkeiten der Welt gezählt. Als MIT-Professor ist er mit seinen lehrreichen und dennoch unterhaltsamen Vorlesungen ein echter „Crowd Puller“. Gemeinsam mit seinem Team entwickelte er eine Flüssigmetallbatterie, die Energie aus Wind und Sonne speichert und damit der Schlüssel für den Siegeszug erneuerbarer Energien ist. In seinen beeindruckenden Vorträgen spricht Donald Sadoway über seine Suche nach der Energie von Morgen und die Erfolge, die er dabei bereits erzielt hat. Auf der re:comm 2013 war der Professor für Elektrochemie bereits schon einmal zu Gast – in diesem Jahr liefert er uns ein spannendes Update zu seinen Forschungen.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

Hans-Werner SinnNationalökonom und Finanzwissenschaftler

Hans-Werner Sinn ist der am häufigsten zitierte Wirtschaftsexperte Deutschlands. Während seiner Zeit als Präsident des ifo-Institutes wird dieses zu einem der führenden deutschen Wirtschaftsforschungsinstitute. Hans-Werner Sinn ist emeritierter Präsident am ifo Institut. Von 1984 bis 2016 war er Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Nationalökonomie und Finanzwissenschaft der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und von 1991 bis März 2016 Leiter des von ihm gegründeten Center for Eonomic Studies (CES). Dank zahlreicher Forschungsaufenthalte und Gastprofessuren genießt Hans-Werner Sinn auch international großes Ansehen. Er ist Honorarprofessor der Universität Wien sowie ständiger Gastprofessor an der Universität Luzern. Seit 1989 sitzt er im Wissenschaftlichen Beirat des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

Jimmy WalesGründer Wikipedia

Jimmy Wales ist der Gründer der Online-Enzyklopädie Wikipedia und einer der großen Internetpioniere. Das TIME Magazine listete ihn 2006 als einen der 100 einflussreichsten Menschen. Im März 2000 gründet Jimmy Wales das Online Informations-Projekt Nupedia, als dessen Nebenprojekt Wikipedia entsteht. Die 2003 gegründete Nonprofit-Bewegung Wikimedia Foundation, deren Vorstand Jimmy Wales ist, widmet sich der Weiterentwicklung von Wikipedia. Jimmy Wales ist außerdem Mitgründer der For-Profit Organisation Wikia Inc. sowie des Mobilfunknetzbetreibers TPO, der 10% der monatlichen Rechnung an eine vom Kunden ausgewählte Wohltätigkeitseinrichtung spendet. Mit seinem jüngsten Projekt Wikitribune, einer werbefreien Nachrichtenplattform, will er die Welt ebenso revolutionieren wie mit Wikipedia.
Zum Vortragsvideo.

Harald WelzerSozialpsychologe

Harald Welzer ist Sozialpsychologe und Soziologe, Direktor der gemeinnützigen Stiftung FUTURZWEI und Professor für Transformationsdesign an der Uni Flensburg. Er ist Vorstand und Mitbegründer der Initiative „Offene Gesellschaft“, die für das politische Gemeinwesen so eintritt, wie es im Grundgesetz formuliert ist. Harald Welzer gehört zu den profiliertesten Wachstumskritikern Deutschlands und ist einer der konsequentesten Vordenker unserer Zeit über den Weg zu einer wünschenswerten Zukunft. Als Anhänger der kapitalismuskritischen Schule setzt er sich engagiert für einen nachhaltigen, persönlichen Lebensstil des „Mitdenkens“ ein. Er ist Autor zahlreicher Bestseller, darunter „Klimakriege: Wofür im 21. Jahrhundert getötet wird“.
Zum Vortragsvideo.